• Slide 2
  • Slide 4

Firestone Walker Named “Champion Brewery” For Third Time At International Beer Competition

Champion Brewery Firestone Walker

Left to right: David Walker, Master Brewer Matt Brynildson, Charlie Papazian (Photo credit: Jay Brooks)

I recently had the exciting opportunity to attend the 2010 Craft Brewers Conference in Chicago. The conference also coincided with the 2010 World Beer Cup. Judging of the beers took place over the entire week and the winners were announced at the closing Gala dinner.

California-based Firestone Walker Brewing Company and Master Brewer Matt Brynildson set a record at the 2010 World Beer Cup by becoming the only brewery in the world to be named “Champion Brewery and Brewmaster” for an unprecedented third time at the World Beer Cup.

We were somewhat humbled receiving this award for a third time in a room of 2000 friends of the brewing community from around the world. Stuff like this is hard to plan for….we’re still stunned,” said Proprietor David Walker. “Kudos goes to the brew crew and our loyal fans who know it’s what we drink around here,” he added.

The World Beer Cup is held every two years and is one of the most prestigious beer competitions in the world. Firestone Walker and Brynildson were also named Champion Brewery and Brewmaster at the 2004 and 2006 World Beer Cup. Firestone Walker’s champion awards fall under the broad and highly competitive category of Mid-Size Brewing Company, which includes breweries that produce anywhere between 15,000 barrels and 2 million barrels annually.

The 2010 World Beer Cup featured over 3,330 entries from 642 breweries in 44 countries. The judging panel included 179 brewers and beer experts from 26 countries. Judging is done “blind” so that judges do not know the identity of the beers or what breweries are entered into the competition.
Firestone Walker Brewing Company earned a total of six medals at the 2010 World Beer Cup, including gold medals for its Firestone Pale 31 in the category of American-Style Pale Ale and Hefeweizen in the category of South German-Style Hefeweizen. Only one gold medal was awarded per category. The gold medal for Firestone Pale 31 follows a gold medal for the same beer at the 2004 and 2006 World Beer Cup.

Craft Brewing is a zymurlogical team sport and this amazing accomplishment is a true testament, not only to the consistent artistry and skill that my co-workers put forth, but also the inspiring cohesion and balance that they have established and direct into our beers. I couldn’t be more proud of our brewing team for bringing the WBC championship award back home to the Central Coast,” Brewmaster Matt Brynildson said.

Congratulations Firestone Walker! Mutineer is proud!


Comments are closed at this time.

Copyright Wine Mutineer, LLC © 2015